The Value Of Self & The Price Of Nothing

Standard

We often find ourselves ignoring the value of our own existence.

How often do we really take the time to appreciate how good we are at things or how talented? Much of this will come from our parents.

Growing up I never really felt as though I was worth anything at all. My Mother could destroy what little confidence I had in a heartbeat and my Father played a very hands off role most of the time when it came to my mental well being.

Our reflection of ourselves is very telling. We doubt what we could possibly bring to a relationship or a job. We may battle with our abilities to do things that we are very capable of doing. Often these things will go back to our childhood.

I find myself at a crossroads. I must now decide whether to continue to job hunt or whether to do that and consider setting up a business. I have always had this desire to work for myself but always been afraid of what it could mean in terms of risk. I think what I was really afraid of was whether I was capable. This came from a lack of self worth.

We find ourselves knocked in life by huge events that cause us to completely reevaluate our entire lives and existence. It is in these moments that we really bring to the surface how we feel about ourselves deep down.

What is it that holds the rest of us back? Is there something that we wish we were doing that we didn’t because fear kicked in?

Anything to add? Feel free.

