Super(obese)Man: Part 1

Standard

As of today I have lost almost 5 stone in weight (70 pounds or 31kg). So I decided to write this post.

I decided to try and do something about my weight in the latter months of 2012. I’ll talk about the why’s in another post but this one is mainly to give people who are either earlier on in this path some hope and encouragement or to answer some questions that many people have about “becoming that fat”.

As a child I sort of coasted through at what I would consider an average weight or at least looking at photos from back then a not unusual weight. That was until about aged 10/11. In 1992 my parents bought a pub and we relocated leaving behind friends and family. I was aged almost 10. Looking back I don’t blame the pub or my parents. They had to do what needed to be done. My dad with little qualifications stumbled from one job to the next and so this was a “secure” job that he could own and make his. I think everything combined made my weight spiral. Less parental supervision (ironically they were only ever just downstairs though), leaving everyone else I knew and loved and my fathers weight issues were obvious to all except perhaps him.

As a child of the 1940’s/50’s he would have been raised without todays high fat and high sugar fast foods. It’s hard to pin point his weight issues. He never spoke about them and most people around us seemed to be in a state of denial. To this day my Aunty still thinks he was just a tall, well built chap. My father was offered life saving gastric surgery in 2001 which he impolitely declined.

The little I know of his upbringing was that his mother struggled to raise them single handedly after my grandfathers death in his early 40’s. She borrowed to clothe and feed them, which was frowned upon back then, and she would often lie to them that she had eaten because she couldn’t afford to. Both of his sisters have battled with weight all their adult lives and so did his parents perhaps having seen photos. My mothers family did not seem to suffer the same fate.

My father entered the army in the 1960’s so we can safely assume he was at the very least fit & active. He would go on to serve for 8 years in Germany & Hong Kong.
By the 1970’s when he marries my mother the wedding day photo reveal that his army days are long behind him and the battle of the bulge has been lost. He never shifted any of it to my knowledge and was a “big chap” throughout my childhood.
He would later go on to lose a little of the weight during the illness that lead to his death. This was after several strokes and a thrombosis. He was fortunate to never suffer a heart attack.

5 thoughts on “Super(obese)Man: Part 1

Anything to add? Feel free.

