The Habit of Death

Standard

We sometimes forget the grief and turmoil that our older relatives have been through.

Today it was staring me in the face as I stood placing flowers on the grave of my Grandparents. One would have died in the 1950’s and the other in the 1970’s. I didn’t know either of them but I was stood there today with my Aunty for whom this must have obviously been a very emotional experience.

It is also worth mentioning that she has in this time lost her husband and countless friends. Now I am aware that this is not unusual for someone in their 70’s to have experienced but the magnitude of it hit me today.

How do we continue on in the face of such huge losses? How do we reach down deep and carry on going each day? I lost my Dad several years ago and I’m still not sure that I know the answer. A new kind of normal appears and you live in that normal.

They say 21 days is all it takes to form a new habit. Maybe in the face of such huge loss we just start a new habit but the drug is the same. Life.

Anything to add? Feel free.

