The Loved Ones Who Forget

Standard

I wanted to post a very quick note today to let you all know that there has been a recent diagnosis in the family of dementia.

I will post more in the coming days (and no doubt weeks and months) about the situation.

We have been waiting a long time for the diagnosis and now what we suspected is here it is more difficult than we had assumed. Tragically the person we love is being slowly taken from us and there are no drugs or treatments that can even slow it such is the rare form of the condition.

Reading today what happens in the course of the next few years is heartbreaking and frankly I wouldn’t wish it on anyone. It makes it so much worse that the person is not only close to me but also that they are a genuinely lovely person who has never harmed anyone in their life.

If you or anyone you know is experiencing issues related to this post then click here for dementiauk.org

20140331-212902.jpg

3 thoughts on “The Loved Ones Who Forget

  1. Just yesterday my husband and took the agonizing step of placing my mother-in-law, who has lived with us for eleven years, in a nursing facility. She has shown evidence of dementia for the past few years and it has gotten worse enough that it was no longer safe for us to keep her at home. Dementia runs in my family for three generations. I am so sorry to hear of the diagnosis in your family. It is a painful process. I will be following your blog with interest.

  2. Just yesterday my husband and I took the agonizing step of placing my mother-in-law, who has lived with us for eleven years, in a nursing facility. She has shown evidence of dementia for the past few years and it has gotten worse enough that it was no longer safe for us to keep her at home. Dementia also runs in my family for three generations. I am so sorry to hear of the diagnosis in your family. It is a painful process for all involved, to be sure. I will be following your blog with interest.

Anything to add? Feel free.

