Daily Prompt: Breathing Room

Standard

They say that on these Daily Prompts you should add a twist if you want. Well today’s prompt reminded me of something I had almost forgotten. So here is my twist.

 

When my Dad had finally succumbed to vascular dementia after three strokes, I rang him one day as normal and had the strangest conversation with him. He was in quite good spirits (if a little confused) because he knew there were three more bedrooms in the house but he just couldn’t find them. Now given that my Dad being ill was extremely upsetting over a seven year period, this amused me greatly.

 

He had genuinely spent all day searching a dorma-bungalow for these three additional bedrooms. He said he knew they were there somewhere but he had no luck in finding them. He was slightly frustrated at this. I have no idea if he wanted to put something in them or whether wanted to rent them out. I was trying very hard to stifle my laughter on the other end of the phone.

 

I did ask him several days later about this conversation and to my surprise he was still confused by these missing bedrooms. Often with these episodes they do not remember a few days later or if they get some oxygen to the brain or a little sleep. He was still perplexed by these missing rooms many days later. I spoke briefly to my mother about it who was also amused but we didn’t have the heart to tell him they didn’t exist.

Anything to add? Feel free.

